Waste Complaints

Enforcement actions against illegal waste activity are a matter for the Local Authorities and the Office of Environmental Enforcement (OEE) within the Environmental Protection Agency

How to Make a Complaint

If you need to make a waste complaint, there are a few options, outlined below, to consider:

Step 1 – Contact the Person or Business Directly

In many cases, it will be possible to resolve an environmental problem by contacting the person or business that you think is causing the problem directly. If you would prefer not to take this option, please move on to Step 2

Step 2 – Contact the Local Authority

If the first step in the process has not produced a satisfactory result, please use any of the following options:

  • Contact your local authority directly (see list below)
  • Contact the National Environmental Complaints Line on a 24 hour basis at 1800 365 123
  • Use the See It Say It mobile app via Google PlayStore to report your complaint or via iTunes (See It Say It)
  • Register your complaint on the FixYourStreet website under Illegal Dumping

Links to all the local authority complaint forms are provided in a table below.

Step 3 – Contact the Office of Environmental Enforcement (OEE) within the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

In cases where the local authority has investigated your initial complaint and the problem persists, you can contact the EPA. The EPA will then investigate the issue and resolve it where possible.

EPA Environmental  Complaint Form

Local Authority Link
Carlow County Council
Cavan County Council
Cork City Council
Cork County Council
Donegal County Council
Dublin City Council
Dun-Laoghaire Rathdown Council
Fingal County Council
Galway City Council
Galway County Council
Kerry County Council
Kildare County Council
Kilkenny County Council
Laois County Council
Leitrim County Council
Longford County Council
Louth County Council
Mayo County Council
Meath County Council
Monaghan County Council
Offaly County Council
Roscommon County Council
Sligo County Council
South Dublin County Council
Tipperary County Council
Waterford City and County Council
Westmeath County Council
Wexford County Council
Wicklow County Council