Three Waste Enforcement Regional Lead Authorities (WERLA), covering the Connacht-Ulster, Eastern Midlands and Southern Regional, were established in 2015 with responsibility for co-ordinating the waste enforcement actions of local authorities, setting priorities and common objectives for waste enforcement and ensuring consistency of enforcement of waste legislation while leaving local authority personnel as first responders on the ground.

Waste Regions

Connacht-Ulster Region

Local Authorities: Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Mayo, Galway County, Galway City, Roscommon, Cavan, Monaghan

Lead Authority: Leitrim-Donegal County Council Consortium

Address: Old Barrel Store, Leitrim County Council, Carrick-on-Shannon, Co. Leitrim

Phone: (071) 9620005

Eastern-Midlands Region

Local Authorities: Louth, Meath, Westmeath, Longford, Fingal, South-Dublin, Dun-Laoghaire, Dublin City, Kildare, Offaly, Laois, Wicklow

Lead Authority: Dublin City Council

Address: Smithfield Square, Dublin

Phone: (01) 222 2222

Southern Region

Local Authorities: Clare, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, Kilkenny, Carlow, Wexford, Waterford, Cork City, Cork County

Lead Authority: Cork County Council

Address: Old Model Farm Road, Cork

Phone: (021) 4276891